Clubs make most of transfer window

Having gained their promotion to the Premier League for the Barbados Football Association’s 2018 Domestic Season earlier this year, Porey Spring and Silver Sands have geared themselves up to make more than a simple splash in the top tier. That is because the two teams have augmented their ranks with upward of ten new additions.

Taking advantage of the transfer window which only closed at 12 a.m. yesterday, debutantes Porey Spring and Silver Sands, who have found their way back to the top-flight, will be looking to give the others a run for their money as they build up their arsenal against some of the premiership stalwarts.

Porey Spring are new to this level and have enlisted the likes of Raymond Hope, former national player Jomo Harewood and Shakir Skeete of St. Andrew Lions. The trio would have just played a major role in helping St. Andrew to this year’s David Thompson Memorial Constituency Councils Football Classic. Also in the squad are Marc Alleyne and Renaldo Hunte from the now-relegated Belfield and Jayden Carter from Empire.

Silver Sands seems to have spared no expense as they have pulled players from Belfield, Parish Land and Wotton. They have also showed that they have an eye for quality as they picked up Rico Forde, Michael Farrell and Kemar Dottin from the Barbados Defence Force Sports Programme.

Brittons Hill were also big in the market and took up several talents. Most notable was the return of Dwayne Stanford after a stint at Rendezvous. Along with two Belfield players joining the fold, Brittons pulled up three from Division 2’s Central League Spartans in Andre Brathwaite, Brandon Walcott and Darien Walcott.

2016 Premier League winners University of the West Indies Blackbirds got in on the action as well and snagged themselves Mustafa Haqq and Juwan Prescod from Brittons Hill, along with players from Ellerton and Belfield. What is most interesting is their pull of Najae Greaves from Checker Hall.

With the a most-interesting premiership slated to kick off in March, the public at large and local football pundits will get a chance to see how these new ‘buys’ will work for teams when the 2018 Preseason Cup gets off the ground next month.

Premier League Team Transfers
Jason Haynes from Belfield
Zacharie Browne from Pinelands
Ramone Shorey (L) from College Savannah
Shad Parris from Hothersal Turning

Ross Perry (L) from L and R
Akeil Lorde from L and R
Ramon Manning from UWI
Amal Mayers from UWI
Dario Harewood from UWI
Mark Bushell from L and R

Chad McCollin (L) Wales
Omar Primus from Belfield
Xavier Dottin-Lynch from Exactly Unified
Keymar Holligan form Belfield
Mario Domingo (L) from Exactly Unified
Kwame Wilfred from Wotton
Brett Carrington from Carlton

Porey Spring
Raymond Hope from St. Andrew Lions
Jomo Harewood from St. Andrew Lions
Shakir Skeete from St. Andrew Lions
Shamar Edwards from Sunrise Ballers
Ryan Stuart from Barbados Youth Service
Justin White from Barbados Youth Service
Marc Alleyne from Belfield
Jayden Carter from Empire
Juwon Walcott (L) from Paradise Youth (U17)
Renaldo Hunte from Belfield

Notre Dame
Rivaldo Graham from Police Sports Club
Stefon Elliot from Barbados Youth Service
Azarel Croney from Belfield
Tre Ifill from UWI
Xavier Clarke from Whitehall Titans
Ron Pile from Barbados Youth Service
Dorrian McClean from Belfield
University of the West Indies Blackbirds
Juwan Prescod from Brittons Hill
Mutafa Haqq from Brittons Hill
Damien Small from Ellerton
Romario Watson from Ellerton
Reno Shepherd from Hothersal Turning
Najae Greaves from Checker Hall
Josiah Hinds from Belfield

Brittons Hill
Dwayne Stanford from Rendezvous
Norrin Corbin from KPR
Kemar Chase from Youth Milan
Stephen Payne from Belfield
Andre Brathwaite from Central League Spartans
Brandon Walcott from Central League Spartans
Darien Walcott from Central League Spartans
Henderson Richards from Belfield
Romario Small from Waterford Compton

Ramar Miller from UWI

Silver Sands
Keiondre Cummins from Fairy Valley
Marcus Thomas from Belfield
Shad King (L) from Belfield
Jamal Pinder from Belfield
Dayne Gordan from Parish Land
Nicholas Cooper from Wotton
Jamal Moore from Wotton
Mario Birkett from Parish Land
Renaldo Dublin (L) from Pride of Gall Hill
Sylvester Small from College Savannah
Rico Forde from BDF Sports Programme
Michael Farrell from BDF Sports Programme
Kemar Dottin from BDF Sports Programme

BDF Sports Programme
Jabbary Chandler from Wotton
Ranaldo Bailey from UWI
Darico King from St. Andrew Lions

Barbados Advocate

Mailing Address:
Advocate Publishers (2000) Inc
Fontabelle, St. Michael, Barbados

Phone: (246) 467-2000
Fax: (246) 434-2020 / (246) 434-1000