Top News > sports

Gifted young batsmen (right) Kraigg Brathwaite and (left) Kyle Corbin receiving the Lord Gavron Trophy from Lord Gavron.


SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Kyle Corbin, Kraigg Brathwaite elated after winning 2008 Lord Gavron award


GIFTED Barbados youth team batsmen Kyle Corbin and Kraigg Brathwaite have both said they felt honoured after winning the 2008 Lord Gavron award.

Corbin, 18, and the 16-year-old Brathwaite were both elated, even though a bit shy, after the announcement was made at the eighth presentation ceremony of the prestigious award at the Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) President’s Suite at Kensington Oval on Friday evening, in the presence of Lord and Lady Gavron.

Also present were members of the BCA Board of Management including president Joel Garner, as well as the family and friends of Corbin and Brathwaite.

Corbin was captain of the champion Barbados team in the three-day TCL West Indies Under-19 tournament in Barbados this year. Barbados finished runners-up in the one-day championship. Brathwaite was also a member of the national side for both championships.

“It’s an honour to accept this award this evening. It’s really a good feeling to know that there are people from other countries who want us to do well and progress and I think it’s a good thing for Barbados’ cricket,” Corbin said.

“Let me say thanks to my supporters and parents. I think they play a big role in the success of young sportsmen. I hope that we go from strength to strength and make Barbados and West Indies cricket proud and very strong again.

“Let me again say thanks to Lord Gavron and Lady Gavron and I hope that by the end of both Kraigg’s and my career, we can look back on today and say that what we accepted here today really did help us in our career.”

Winning titles became a habit for Corbin in 2008. He also led Lodge to the BCA Schools’ Under-19 title as well as the Sagicor General Shield, which the Society, St. John school captured for the first time.

Corbin received his primary school education at St. Jude’s. He gained significant attention in the BCA Intermediate competition in 2007 when he slammed an unprecedented two consecutive double-centuries for Lodge against Wibix and Malvern.

Now a student at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill, Corbin was also a member of the West Indies Under-19 team at the 2008 ICC Youth World Cup championship in Malaysia in February.
Brathwaite has made headlines many times in the past couple years and has amassed an amazing 33 centuries in various competitions.

A student at Combermere after leaving Erdiston Primary (now George Lamming), he hit nine centuries in four different tournaments in 2007 including five in succession.

“It’s an honour to have received this award here this evening. I know that in the past I would always see other awardees getting a prize and I was always aspiring to receive it and I am very thankful,” Brathwaite said.

“First I would like to thank God for giving me the strength and helping me so well so far. I would also like to thank my family and friends for the support they gave me. I would like to thank the BCA for nominating me for this award.

“I would also like to thank my coach
(at Combermere) Mr. (Roddy) Estwick, also Mr. Dexter Toppin (Barbados Under-19 team coach) and Mr. Hendy Springer (BCA Director of Coaching). During the (West Indies Under-19) tournament they really gave me a lot of advice.
“I would also like to thank Lord Gavron for his continual support with the development of Under-19 players in Barbados. I hope that Kyle and I would just keep working hard and try to take it to the next level and make everybody in Barbados proud,” Brathwaite said.

Brathwaite represented West Indies in the 2008 Clico International Under-15 tournament in the Caribbean and
was named the Most Outstanding batsman. He is also in the Barbados team for the first ever West Indies Under-17 tournament in Trinidad, December 9th to 18th.

The Lord Gavron award is given to a Barbados Under-19 cricketer, who has been outstanding on the field of play, has displayed the correct attitude and shown progress in his technical and tactical awareness.

Winners are presented with cash, a computer, cricket gear, a trophy and an attachment to a cricket club in an international playing country. If the cricket attachment does not materialise, winners are given an opportunity to study at a local institution.

The previous winners in order from the inception were: 2001 – Ryan Nurse (fast bowler); 2002 – Jason Smith (off-spinner); 2003 – Martin Nurse (batsman); 2004 – Renaldo Parris (batting all-rounder); 2005 – Javon Searles (fast bowler); 2006 – Kemar Roach (fast bowler); 2007 – Shamarh Brooks (batting all-rounder) and Rashidi Boucher (batsman).

Martin Nurse, Ryan Nurse, Searles, Roach and Brooks have all gone on to represent Barbados either in regional first-class or limited overs matches, while Roach has also played a Twenty20 International and is now touring New Zealand with the West Indies team for the three-Test series.

Email us your comments. | Top

Contact Us | Advertise | Reprints/Permissions | Privacy Policy
© 2008-2010 The Barbados Advocate | Powered by Disseminate It